Our work is only possible with the great support of our community, trustees, advisors, patrons, funding partners, and the designers, mentees and grantees who work tirelessly to produce new knowledge for the energetic and vibrant city of Hong Kong and our region. We would like to acknowledge the generous individuals, organisations and partners who have contributed to the growth of the Design Trust initiative since its conception.

"Cities are engines of generosity. This journey, culminating in our special 10th anniversary celebration, shows and proves the collective willpower of our community to come together, to share resources, innovate, to bring change and very importantly - to inspire and continue to build curiosity and put design at the core for shaping better future.” -- Marisa Yiu, Co-Founder/ Executive Director, Design Trust


2017 Decade Past Decade Forward

14 October 2017

Kerry Hotel


Creative Directors Andre Fu & Adonian Chan


Benefit Committee

Alan Lo, Marisa Yiu, Joyce Tam, Benedict Ku, Catherine Feliciano-Chon, Diana d’Arenberg, Inna Rodchenko-Highfield, Ivan Pun, Jonathan Cheung, Kelly Ying, Nancy Fung, Nicholas Smith, Sean Timothy Fitzpatrick, Talenia Phua Gajardo


Table Patrons

Way Up Front Amanda Loke, Charmaine Li, Edgar Cheng, Jennie Wong, Lumen and Andrew Kinoshita

Centre of the Room Alan Lo, Benedict Ku, Bosco Law, Cindy Chua, Denise Lau, Diana d’Arenberg, Enoch To, Inna Rodchenko-Highfield, Ivan Pun, Jehan Chu, Jennifer Liu, Jonathan Cheung, Joyce Tam, Kylie Ying, Lawrence Chu, Nancy Fung, Talenia Phua Gajardo, Vivian Ho

Spectator Alfred Lam, Bastian Wong, Christina Lee, James Fong, Joanne Chow, Richard Kelly, Rumiko Hasegawa, Sylvia Tang


Design Trust Patrons

Design Trust Leaders Akarin Gaw, Alex Lui, Anonymous, Anonymous, Bernard Chang, Cathy Chon, Edmund Lee, Harris Chan, Hublot, Jagdish Parmanand, Jimmy Choo, Kimberly Kim, LUXARITY

Design Trust Influencers Allan Zeman, Claire Chan, Justin Ng, Nelson Chen, Nissim Tse, Rosanna Wong, Tony Wee

Design Trust Friends Adeline Ooi, Allan Chan, Alex Bent, Bosco Law, Chris Law, Chris Owen, Claire Hsu, Daniel Weinberg, Dennis Eng, Dick Chia, Doreen Tong, Drew Barrymore Kinoshita, Gus Lee, Hamilton Tang, Howard Ku, Ida Ng, Jaime Ku, James Fong, James J Acuna, Jonathan Tam, Kenneth Gaw, Marc Cansier, Mina Park, Raoul Preller, Sean Fitzpatrick, Stefan Rihs, Steve Ko, Suzy Annetta, Tony Gravanis, Vicky Lau, William To, Yo-Hann Tan


Sponsors and Supporters

Gala Venue and Food & Beverage Partner Kerry Hotel Hong Kong

Gala Sponsor Hublot

Gala Sponsor Jimmy Choo

Art Handler and Storage Partner Helu-Trans

Gala Production Partner The Ad Region

Printing Partner Toppan Vite

Event Management Signature

Online Auction Promotion Partner The Artling

Wines Partner Altaya Wines

Champagne and Liquor Partner Perrier-Jouët

Video Production Partner Icicle


About 10th Anniversary Ambassadors Ball

The 10th Anniversary Ambassadors Ball, in benefit of Design Trust was held on Saturday, 14 October 2017 at Kerry Hotel, Hung Hom. Appointed as Creative Directors for this year’s Ball were architect André Fu and typographer Adonian Chan. The definition of modern typography aesthetics and the interpretation of Chinese calligraphic culture was combined with contemporary design by the stellar duo. Playing on the Chinese character  “水 (Water)”, the theme this year was  “科水” (fo seoi), a Cantonese slang meaning of  “gathering money” as Water has a connotation of wealth, money, and prosperity in the Cantonese colloquial language.


科水 (fo seoi) is an interesting example that reflected the bilingual culture of Hong Kong and its roots in the Chinese language as a form of communication, at the same time it represents the nature of the event to fund raise for the future prosperity of Design Trust.


This annual benefit brought together design industry influencers, stakeholders, art connoisseurs, creative talents, collectors and society icons, to celebrate and promote Hong Kong’s rich community of creativity and design. HKSAR Chief Executive Mrs. Carrie Lam, GBM, GBS graced the event with her presence as Guest of Honour, followed by a music performance by local percussionist Dr. Matthew Lau. Our executive director announced new initiatives such as the 2017 launch of new flagship programme Design Trust Futures Studio and the new design curation fellowship in collaboration with the Royal College of Art, London.


We would like to extend our sincere gratitude and appreciation to benefit committee members, table patrons, sponsors including Kerry Hotel, Hublot, and Jimmy Choo, and auction lot donors for their generous patronage that have helped to shape and set a positive momentum for the next decade of Design Trust.