January 2017 Design Trust Grant Recipients

1. 4. 2017


Congratulations to Design Trust Grant Recipients of the recent January 2017 cycle: Polly Ho and Andy Wong; Xiaoxuan Lu, Ivan Valin and Susanne Trumpf; Research & Development department, Het Nieuwe Instituut, project led by Marina Otero Verzier; and the team of Brian Kwok and Anneke Coppoolse.

The awarded grants span a diverse range of projects from a study of the fast disappearing Hong Kong neon signs, landscapes of “automated work” comparing PRD and Rotterdam, Hong Kong’s sitting out areas and the unique heritage of fabric and material practices.

Our next grant application deadline is 20th April, 2017. Design Trust offers grants to individual designers, curators, collectives and non-profit organisations for projects and activities that are relevant to various design disciplines to the context and content of Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta region.  We support innovative, thought-provoking investigations in various design disciplines from graphics, media, wearables, architecture to the built environment. DESIGN TRUST FEATURE GRANTS foster cross-disciplinary projects focusing on the Greater Pearl River Delta region. Projects awarded have a wide reaching audience and maybe sited in an exhibition or biennale venue with international recognition and standing. DESIGN TRUST SEED GRANTS foster a culture of experimentation, testing and sharing. This grant is awarded to individuals seeking to kick start a meaningful and intellectual project with social, educational, economical or environmental impact for communities.