2019

信言設計大使種籽資助計劃

Nantou: The Morphing Origin

作為大灣區唯一歷史悠久而又生機盎然的城區類型樣本,南頭古城正在經歷重大變化。幾個世紀以來,它一直處於東莞縣省會和行政中心的地位,但這座3.5平方公裏的古城同時又已發展成為人口超過30,000的高密度城中村。不斷變化生長的狀態使其成為備受爭議而又引人入勝的城市調查案例。2019年起,南頭古城將實施針對全村基礎設施和主要街區公共空間與建築物的城市更新計劃。本項目將通過圖解記錄這些設計幹預措施和社會動態變化,作為這次重要的城市形態轉變的案例分析,同時嘗試對這種實時變化進行批判性調查。

關於 何柳

何柳長期實踐於城市策展與文化運營領域,曾參與創立有方空間並任項目總監,後歷任FuturePlus展覽負責人和華僑城創研院創投部策劃總監,期間負責過多個城市建築領域展覽及公共活動項目。她畢業於哈佛大學設計研究生院和浙江大學建築系,曾入選加拿大建築中心(CCA)2019年度公共策劃駐地藝術家和哈佛大學2012年度馬可波羅學者。

關於 左龍

左龍,建築師,梓集fabersociety創始人。梓集是位於中國深圳的建築與城市設計事務所,它強調對城市區域與建築的有機更新,以及面向社區的設計與研究。他曾在Atelier Deshaus、Studio Mumbai和Bjarke Ingels Group(BIG)等公司擔任建築師,並于哈佛大學和香港大學擔任研究員。他拥有天津大學的建築學學士和哈佛大學設計研究生院的城市設計碩士學位,也是2015年里約社會住房競賽首獎和2015年嫩鳥計劃一等獎的獲得者。

Nantou: The Morphing Origin

Nantou, the sui generis sample of a living historical origin for the Greater Bay Area, is undergoing substantial changes. While noted by its status as the capital and administrative center of the vast Dongguan Province for centuries, the 3.5 km² walled city has also evolved into a densely populated urban village with more than 30,000 residents. The constant state of evolution marked it an intriguing, contested site for urban investigations, and now it is about to embark on a new front: in 2019, an urban plan with renewed infrastructure and renovation projects throughout the village will be implemented. This project will attempt a critical survey of this live transformation, by mapping both the design interventions and social dynamics, as the much-needed analytical documentation of a rare case of urban morphology.

Nantou, the sui generis sample of a living historical origin for the Greater Bay Area, is undergoing substantial changes. While noted by its status as the capital and administrative center of the vast Dongguan Province for centuries, the 3.5 km² walled city has also evolved into a densely populated urban village with more than 30,000 residents. The constant state of evolution marked it an intriguing, contested site for urban investigations, and now it is about to embark on a new front: in 2019, an urban plan with renewed infrastructure and renovation projects throughout the village will be implemented. This project will attempt a critical survey of this live transformation, by mapping both the design interventions and social dynamics, as the much-needed analytical documentation of a rare case of urban morphology.

About Liu He

Liu He is a curator and cultural producer based in Shenzhen, China. She has co-founded Archiposition, and served as its program director for over 3 years. She has also worked as the Head of Exhibition at FuturePlus Academy, and Director of Programming at OCT IRI, during which she has been involved in multiple exhibitions and public events on architecture, design and urbanism. Liu holds a Master in Design Studies (History and Philosophy of Design) from Harvard GSD and a B.Arch from Zhejiang Univ. She has been a resident at Canadian Center for Architecture in 2019, and a Marco Polo scholar at Harvard in 2012.

About Long Zuo

Long Zuo is an architect and founder of fabersociety, an architectural and urban design studio based in Shenzhen, China. The studio emphasizes renewal of existing configuration and small-scale materialization, with optimized and articulated interventions. He previously worked as an architect at Atelier Deshaus, Studio Mumbai and Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG), among others. He also worked as a researcher at Harvard University and Hong Kong University. Long holds a B.Arch fron Tianjin University, and MAUD from Harvard GSD. He is the recipient of Rio Social Housing 2015 Competition (1st Prize) and Young Bird Plan 2015 (1st prize).

Read More

Design Trust Seed Grant

2019
Grantee: Liu He and Long Zuo