April 2017 Design Trust Grant Recipients

20. 6. 2017


Congratulations to Design Trust Grant Recipients of the recent April 2017 cycle: the team of Gavin Kroeber; Paul Tse and Evelyn Ting; Thomas Chung, Alex Tam, Lawrence Pun and Siu Man; the Design* Lab team of Ire Tsui, Michael Leung, Rony Chan; and the MIT Media Lab team of Jifei Ou, Jie Qi and Artem Dementyev.

The awarded grants span a diverse range of projects from re-imagining global sites of rapid urbanization, researchers in residency in a Shenzhen factory, architecture in Hong Kong in between needs and desires, explorations of “weak” spaces in Hong Kong, and micro manufacturing.

Our next grant application deadline is 20th July 2017. Design Trust offers grants to individual designers, curators, collectives and non-profit organisations for projects and activities that are relevant to various design disciplines to the context and content of Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta region. We support innovative, thought-provoking investigations in various design disciplines from graphics, media, wearables, architecture to the built environment.

DESIGN TRUST FEATURE GRANTS foster cross-disciplinary projects focusing on the Greater Pearl River Delta region. Projects awarded have a wide reaching audience and maybe sited in an exhibition or biennale venue with international recognition and standing. DESIGN TRUST SEED GRANTS foster a culture of experimentation, testing and sharing. This grant is awarded to individuals seeking to kick start a meaningful and intellectual project with social, educational, economical or environmental impact for communities.