2017 October Design Trust Grant Recipients

28. 12. 2017



Congratulations to Design Trust Grant Recipients of the recent October 2017 cycle: Lo Koon Man, Studio Florian + Christine’s Florian Wegenast and Christine Lew, and the team of An Xiao Mina and Jan Chipchase.

The awarded grants span a diverse range of projects from a multi-functional Tuk Tuk as a revolutionary cultural hub; the re-imagination of local and unused waste materials into an open source sustainable craft process; and an investigation of the fidget spinner and its manufacturing and distribution process.

Our next grant application deadline is 20th January 2018. Design Trust offers grants to individual designers, curators, collectives and non-profit organisations for projects and activities that are relevant to various design disciplines to the context and content of Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta region. We support innovative, thought-provoking investigations in various design disciplines from graphics, media, wearables, architecture to the built environment.

DESIGN TRUST FEATURE GRANTS foster cross-disciplinary projects focusing on the Greater Pearl River Delta region. Projects awarded have a wide-reaching audience and maybe sited in an exhibition or biennale venue with international recognition and standing.

DESIGN TRUST SEED GRANTS foster a culture of experimentation, testing and sharing. This grant is awarded to individuals seeking to kick start a meaningful and intellectual project with social, educational, economical or environmental impact for communities.

Please note from 2019 onwards, applications will be reviewed twice a year. Submission deadlines will be on 20th of April and 20th of October. Please look out for our next Design Trust/ RCA Fellowship call for application and the M+/ Design Trust Research Fellowship next year.