研究資助計劃

聯合國際知名機構,本會成立的研究資助計劃旨於為個人申請者,建立機會進一步深入發展知性研究、營造創新項目或提昇其設計範疇的專業技能,加強知識和能力。申請項目形式包括,但不受限制於駐場計劃、實習、研究、寫作、合作方案、工作坊等。

 

 

 

Design Trust / RCA設計策展資助計劃2018

Design Trust / RCA設計策展資助計劃2018

信言設計大使與倫敦皇家藝術學院合作推出第二季的「Design Trust / RCA設計策展資助計劃」,得到信言設計大使的廣泛支持,這機會讓設計策展學人在倫敦皇家藝術學院進行一年的設計策展研究計劃和學習機會。旨在支持設計界策展人的發展。計劃截止申請日期為2018年5月2日。

位於倫敦皇家藝術學院工作,設計策展學人將成為設計歷史研究和教學中心的一部分,並實踐藝術,人民和社區關注的公共策劃。策展學人將對當代設計和近代設計歷史的策展環境進行深入研究,實踐社會,文化,經濟和技術理論的新思維。重點研究包括:設計策劃歷史和現代慣例; 人工製品知識和設計系統及過程; 展覽策劃,展示,詮釋和收集; 設計存放管理; 及公共領域設計策劃。

從2018年9月開始,設計策展學人將進行為期12個月的研究,並將獲得定製的學術培訓計劃。研究方案旨在擴大策展學人在策展的實踐,理論和設計理解方面的知識和技能。課程包括歷史和理論研討會,策展工作坊,以及於皇家藝術學院其中一間合作機構進行策展實習。具體方案將由策展學人及其主管制定,平均每週兩到三天。

除此以外,設計策展學人將設計和開發與亞洲及其全球背景下與設計有關的原創性研究項目,由皇家藝術學院的學科專家提供支持。該項目通過與皇家藝術學院的學科專家合作提供支持,並通過與項目主管的定期1:1教程。研究可能會探索與設計的不同學科(如產品設計,服務設計,時尚,運輸和數碼)有關的主題,或在近期和當代圍繞設計的社會,政治或文化背景進行跨學科研究 (包括與當代藝術或建築實踐的關係)。研究應圍繞香港但不是必須。此項目該產生一個原創性的策展方案,展示未來的實踐,並對策展環境和方法有進一步理解。

策展方法和內容的發展將通過書面和非書面的元素(如數字,攝影,電影)來展現,並可能包括在皇家藝術學院或網上策展作品的原型展覽。此外,設計策展學人將編寫一份論文(c,10,000 - 15,000字),可能是一個/ 一連串的論文。學人還將編寫一份關於他們研究成果(包括工作安排活動)的報告。

資助計劃針對在全球環境中發展迅速的設計策展領域,以及設計策展與其他界別策展的關係,如新設計機構的成長、藝術博物館、雙年展和文化藝術節等新設計的發展。

申請資格
計劃歡迎香港珠江三角洲地區人士或與香港珠江三角洲地區有聯繫人士申請。成功申請人必須獲得英國簽證(第4級)才能獲得獎學金。申請人須持有相關學科的研究生學位;學士學位持有人則須具有三年或以上相關之專業或學術研究經驗。此外,申請人還必須具備良好的英語會話及書寫能力。

支持
該獎學金由信言設計大使大力支持。包括支付長達一年的項目費用,以及向設計策展學人提供12,000英鎊的助學金。其他支持包括,以支持研究成果和項目的發展。這將在學人的研究計劃與皇家藝術學院達成一致之後進行分配。

評選準則
• 設計及其相關主題研究方法的創意(包括歷史和當代知識的展示)
• 該研究應與亞洲設計史和當代實踐相關
• 在設計中發展原創策展的潛力
• 證明候選人進行高級研究的能力
• 對香港及大珠三角地區策展發展有長遠的貢獻潛力

評審過程
評審小組由皇家藝術學院及信言設計大使代表組成,以公平競爭的原則評審。通過初步遴選的申請人將獲邀面試。

如何申請
申請人應提供:
• 一封1,000字的研究興趣聲明信
• 完整的履歷,包括學歷、工作經驗、榮譽、獎項及出版著作等資料
• 由推薦人(學術界或專業人士均可)直接寄出的兩封推薦信
• 三篇相關的寫作範例,已出版或尚未發佈的文章皆可,其中至少有兩篇應是英文
• 申請人符合英國內政部Tier 4簽證語言資格的證明
完成的申請應通過電子郵件發送至 hod@rca.ac.uk

申請截止日期為2018年5月2日。

皇家藝術學院是世界領先的藝術設計大學,在2017年,2016年和2015年的QS世界大學排名中排名第一。專門從事教學和研究,皇家藝術學院在藝術和人文學科,建築學,設計和傳播學方面提供 MA,MPhil,MRes 和 PhD 學位。 皇家藝術學院社區包括1500多名碩士和博士生,以及1000多名專業人士,包括學者,藝術和設計從業者,以及專家,顧問和貴賓。www.rca.ac.uk


信言設計大使為一個成立於2014年的專案資助平台,由2007年創立的本地註冊非牟利慈善團體「香港設計大使」創辦。信言設計大使旨於支持香港及大珠江三角洲地區的設計專案,推動專業知識、設計研究議題和創意項目,涉及多個設計領域,從平面設計、媒體、建築至生活空間。信言設計大使旨於積極鼓勵創意研究、設計及別具意義的計劃發展,藉此提倡設計的正面價值。designtrust.hk

2019年度 M+ / Design Trust 研究資助計劃

2019年度 M+ / Design Trust 研究資助計劃

M+和信言設計大使(Design Trust)宣佈,2019年度 「M+ / Design Trust 研究資助計劃」將會擴展為資助兩項獨立的研究計劃。其中一項研究須在區域及全球框架下,聚焦香港及大珠江三角洲地區的相關領域;另一項研究則須與亞洲廣泛相關,可為M+提供具參考價值的展覽主題。

計劃申請者應以歷史或當代議題進行單一或跨學科的高等研究(如建築、平面設計、工業設計和都市化等),當中須包含文化、社會、經濟和政治環境,以及國際和跨文化網絡的考量。

獲選的研究學人將於2019年在 M+ 進行為期三至六個月的獨立研究,以全職為佳,工作過程中可與策展團隊進行學術交流,並參與 M+ 舉辦的活動。獲選者須於計劃期內發表一篇英文字數為5,000字或以上的論文,以書面、電子檔案或其他形式於 M+ 及 Design Trust 的平台發佈,並為 M+ 主講一場相關的公眾講座。

申請資格
是項計劃並沒有任何國籍限制,歡迎有志於研究設計、建築或相關領域議題之人士申請。惟獲選的研究學人最終能否獲取資助,將取決於其申請香港簽證的結果。
申請人須持有相關學科的研究生學位;學士學位持有人則須具有三年或以上相關之專業或學術研究經驗。此外,申請人還必須具備良好的英語會話及書寫能力。

計劃資助金額
「M+ / Design Trust 研究資助計劃」將提供一項為期三至六個月、每月最多港幣$40,000元(實際期限及金額視個別情況而定)的研究資助,金額包括生活費、保險和研究開支用。獲選的研究學人若來自海外,可額外申請一筆高達港幣$10,000元的交通津貼,以支付往返香港的費用。

評選準則
計劃的評選準則如下:
• 須是從區域及全球框架出發的原創研究,能擴闊和重塑關於香港、大珠江三角洲地區乃至亞洲的設計及建築的現有知識,或有助創造這方面的新知識
• 研究內容有助增進對 M+ 現有設計及建築藏品的理解,擴大此領域的未來收藏方向,並對相關領域的節目策劃、策展策略具參考價值
• 申請人須具備良好往績,證明其具進行高等研究的能力

評審過程
評審小組由 M+ 及 Design Trust 代表組成,以公平競爭的原則評審。通過初步遴選的申請人將獲邀面試。

申請方式
申請人須遞交以下文件:
• 填妥的申請表格
• 完整的履歷,包括學歷、工作經驗、榮譽、獎項及出版著作等資料
• 由推薦人(學術界或專業人士均可)直接寄出的兩封推薦信
請以電郵遞交完整資料及表格,申請截止日期為2018年8月13日。
有關申請或查詢詳情,請電郵至 designfellow@mplus.org.hk。

須知
面試將於2018年夏季舉行,並於同年秋季公佈評選結果。
申請人若於申請截止日期起四週內未接獲通知,可視同落選。

關於 M+
M+是嶄新的博物館,致力於收藏、展示與詮釋二十及二十一世紀的視覺藝術、設計及建築、流動影像,以及香港視覺文化。位於香港西九文化區的M+正在興建,建成後其規模可媲美世界知名的現當代視覺文化博物館,矢志於躋身世界頂尖文化機構之列。我們冀以香港中西薈萃的歷史特色為基礎,從身處的斯時此地出發,為二十一世紀亞洲創立一座別樹一幟的新型博物館。

關於Design Trust
信言設計大使為一個成立於2014年的專案資助平台,由2007年創立的本地註冊非牟利慈善團體「香港設計大使」創辦。信言設計大使旨在支持香港及大珠江三角洲地區的設計專案,推動專業知識、設計研究議題和創意項目,涉及多個設計領域,從平面設計、媒體、建築至生活空間。信言設計大使旨於積極鼓勵創意研究、設計及別具意義的計劃發展,藉此提倡設計的正面價值。

RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS

In partnership with world-renowned institutions, the Design Trust offers fellowships that allow individuals to develop their emerging careers, build in-depth research, acquire and create innovative work or increase their skills within their related discipline. These include, but are not limited to residency programs, internships, research, writing, collaborative projects, and workshops.

 

 

 

Design Trust / RCA Fellowship in Design Curation 2018

Design Trust / RCA Fellowship in Design Curation 2018

Applications are invited for the Design Trust / RCA Fellowship in Design Curation, extensively supported by Design Trust, this is a one-year opportunity for research, learning and engagement in at Royal College of Art in London.

The deadline for applications is Wednesday, 2 May 2018.

Based at the Royal College of Art in London, the Fellow will undertake advanced research into the theory and practice of contemporary design curating. Areas of focus might include: strategies for exhibition-making, display, interpretation and collections; design archives; design curating in the public sphere; and design theory and method as curatorial practice; and history and current practice in design curating.

Starting in September 2018, the Fellow will follow a bespoke programme of studies, embedded within the RCA’s vibrant interdisciplinary environment. Extensively supported by Design Trust, the programme of studies is designed to broaden the Fellow’s knowledge and skills in curatorial practice, theory and understanding of design, and will include history, theory and practical seminars, curating workshops, interdisciplinary fora and a curatorial placement with one of the RCA’s external partners. The specific programme will be devised with the Fellow and his/her supervisors, and will take, on average, two to three days a week.

Alongside this programme, the Fellow will devise and develop an original research project related to design in Asia and its global contexts, working alongside emerging and established practitioners and thinkers in design, art, humanities and curating as public practice at the RCA. The project is supported by engagement with subject specialists at the RCA and guided through regular 1:1 tutorials with the project supervisor. Research may explore topics related to the different disciplines of design (such as product design, service design, fashion, transport and the digital), or make an interdisciplinary enquiry into an aspect of design’s social, political or cultural contexts in recent and current practice (including the relationship to contemporary art, architectural practice and/or urbanism). A focus on Hong Kong is preferred but not essential. The research should result in an original curatorial proposal that informs future practice and demonstrates advanced understanding of curatorial contexts and approaches.

In the project, the development of curatorial methods and content will be demonstrated through written and non-written elements (such as digital, photographic, film) and may include, as appropriate, a prototype exhibition at RCA or online curatorial work. In addition, the Fellow will produce a portfolio of writing (10,000 - 15,000 words) which may take the form of several papers or an extended essay/thesis. The Fellow will also prepare a report on their research findings (including work placement activity).

The Fellowship is designed to develop the burgeoning field of design curating in a global context, within broader interdisciplinary practices of curating (such as the growth of new institutions devoted to design, the presence of design in art museums, biennales and cultural festivals and other new platforms for public engagement with design, including urban development and archives).

 

Eligibility

Applications are welcome from individuals based in, or are connected to Hong Kong or the Greater Pearl River Delta region with a background in curating and a research interest in design. The successful applicant must be able to secure a UK visa (Tier 4) in order to take up the Fellowship. Applicants should either hold a postgraduate degree in a relevant discipline or an undergraduate degree with minimum three years relevant professional work or academic research experience. Proficiency in spoken and written English is also required.

Support
The Fellowship is established with kind support to the RCA from Design Trust. This covers payment of full fees for the year-long programme, as well as a stipend of £12,000 to the Fellow. Additional support is also available to support the development of research outcomes and projects. This will be allocated after the Fellow’s research plan is developed and agreed with the RCA.


Assessment Criteria

  • Originality of research approach to design and its related subjects (including demonstration of historical and contemporary knowledge).
  • The research’s relevance to Asian design history and contemporary practice.
  • Potential for developing original curatorial strategies in design.
  • Proven ability of the candidate in undertaking advanced research.
  • Potential for long-term contribution to curatorial development in Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta region.


Review Process
The fellowship will be awarded on a competitive basis by a committee comprising representatives from the RCA and Design Trust. After the initial screening process, shortlisted candidates will be invited to an in-person or remote interview.


How to Apply
Applicants should provide:

  • A cover letter that includes a 1,000-word statement of research interests.
  • A full curriculum vitae covering education, professional experience, honours, awards and publications.
  • Two letters of recommendation (academic or professional), submitted directly from the referees to hod@rca.ac.uk.
  • Three pieces of relevant written work, published or unpublished, of which at least two are in English.
  • Evidence of applicant meeting the UK Home Office Tier 4 Visa language qualifications.

Completed applications should be emailed to hod@rca.ac.uk.

 

The deadline for applications is Wednesday 2 May 2018.

The Royal College of Art is the world’s leading university of art and design, placing at Number One in the 2017, 2016 and 2015 QS World University Rankings. Specialising in teaching and research, the RCA offers the degrees of MA, MPhil, MRes and PhD across the arts and humanities, architecture, design and communications. The RCA community includes more than 1500 Master’s and doctoral students and more than 1000 professionals interacting with them – including scholars, art and design practitioners, along with specialists, advisers and distinguished visitors. www.rca.ac.uk

Design Trust was established in 2014 by Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design, a registered charity in Hong Kong since 2007, as a grant funding platform. Design Trust supports creative projects that develop expertise, build research initiatives and content related to Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta Region. Working across a multiplicity of design disciplines from graphics, media, architecture to the built environment, Design Trust aims to actively accelerate creative research, design and development of meaningful projects that advocate for the positive role of design. www.designtrust.hk 

M+ / Design Trust Research Fellowship 2019

M+ / Design Trust Research Fellowship 2019

M+ and Design Trust are pleased to announce that the M+ / Design Trust Research Fellowship 2019 has expanded to award two separate fellowships. One fellowship will support a research project focused on Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta region in an Asian or global context, and the second fellowship will support a research project related to Asia more broadly, closely in line with the curatorial position of the Hong Kong–based institution M+.
Applicants should engage in advanced research on historical or contemporary topics relating to either a single discipline (such as architecture, graphic design, industrial design, or urbanism) or cross-disciplinary developments, taking into consideration cultural, social, economic, and political milieus as well as international and cross-cultural networks.

The successful applicants will be attached to M+ for three to six months in 2019, conducting independent research, preferably on a full-time basis. Fellows are encouraged to engage with the museum’s curatorial staff and participate in M+ programmes. The fellowship should result in 1) a paper (5,000 words or more) to be disseminated digitally or in print by M+ and Design Trust, or an equivalent outcome in an alternative format; and 2) a lecture as part of the museum’s public programmes.

Eligibility
Applications are welcome from individuals of all nationalities whose areas of research are in design, architecture, or a related field. The provision of the fellowship, however, depends on whether the fellow can obtain a visa for Hong Kong.
Applicants should either hold a postgraduate degree in a relevant discipline or an undergraduate degree with a minimum of three years of relevant professional work or academic research experience. Proficiency in spoken and written English is also required.

Stipend
The M+ / Design Trust Research Fellow will receive a lump-sum stipend of up to 40,000 Hong Kong dollars per month for three to six months (determined on a case-by-case basis) to cover living, insurance, and research-related costs. An overseas fellow may request a one-time travel subsidy of up to 10,000 Hong Kong dollars, covering transportation between the place of origin and Hong Kong.

Assessment Criteria
The following criteria are taken into account when assessing each application:
• Original proposal that expands and reinterprets existing knowledge, or produces new knowledge, of design and architecture in, or with an impact on, Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta region and/or Asia, within a regional and global context
• Potential for expanding the understanding and scope of the museum’s current and future collections, programming, and curatorial strategies in design and architecture
• Proven ability of the candidate to undertake advanced research

Review Process
The fellowship will be awarded on a competitive basis by a committee comprising representatives from M+ and Design Trust. After the initial screening process, shortlisted candidates will be invited to an in-person or remote interview.

How to Apply
Applicants are required to provide:
• A completed application form
• A full curriculum vitae covering education, professional experience, honours, awards, and publications
• Two letters of recommendation (academic or professional), submitted directly from the referees

The deadline for submitting the application is 13 August 2018.
Please send all application materials digitally and address enquiries to designfellow@mplus.org.hk.

Notification
Interviews will be held during summer 2018. The results will be announced in autumn 2018. Applicants not notified within four weeks from the application deadline may assume that their applications were not successful.

About M+
M+ is a museum dedicated to collecting, exhibiting, and interpreting visual art, design and architecture, moving image, and Hong Kong visual culture of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. In Hong Kong’s West Kowloon Cultural District, we are building one of the largest museums of modern and contemporary visual culture in the world, with a bold ambition to establish ourselves as one of the world’s leading cultural institutions. Our aim is to create a new kind of museum that reflects our unique time and place, a museum that builds on Hong Kong’s historic balance of the local and the international to define a distinctive and innovative voice for Asia’s twenty-first century.

About Design Trust
Design Trust was established in 2014 by Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design, a registered charity in Hong Kong since 2007, as a grant-funding platform. Design Trust supports creative projects that develop expertise and build research initiatives and content related to Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta Region. Working across a multiplicity of design disciplines from graphics, media, and architecture to the built environment, Design Trust aims to actively accelerate creative research, design, and the development of meaningful projects that advocate for the positive role of design.