2019

信言設計大使專題資助計劃

高密度城市零廢設計指引

Organisation:
零廢物設計中心

零廢設計指引是通過紐約美國建築師協會開發的,旨在探討建築環境設計在材料再循環中所起的關鍵作用。雖然指引設計是建基於紐約市為背景,但設計策略適用於任何城市,對於減少高密度城市的浪費尤為重要。這個項目將在香港和新加坡舉行公眾小組討論,以吸引當地設計界,並討論零廢設計概念。隨後將與當地利益相關者組成一個專家智庫,探索如何調整設計策略並應用到每個城市當中。由三個城市之間的合作作為起點,並共享設計策略,研究,案例研究和政策,以加深設計界對實現零浪費目標的影響和參與。


關於 零廢物設計中心
廢物是一個設計缺陷:生態系統無了期地在回收材料,但是人類設計了一個系統,可以在六個月內從地球中提取90%以上的材料並破壞。零廢設計中心(CfZWD)促進城市設計的作用,幫助城市實現循環物質和零浪費。 Clare Miflin負責領導該中心,該中心採用零廢設計指引中的設計策略,應用於其他城市中,擴展案例研究數據庫,並開發研究和政策工具。應用設計策略的影響不僅僅是減少浪費,減少路面交通和溫室氣體排放,改善公共空間,以及更具可持續性和彈性的城市。

關於 Clare Miflin

Clare Miflin 擁有超過25 年的執業建築師經驗。 Clare 大部分職業生涯與Kiss + Cathcart 建築事務所合作,期間主導多個獲獎項目,榮獲包括AIA 環境委員會(COTE)十大獎和Holcim 可持續發展金獎等多項殊榮。 2017 年,她領導開發了突破性的零廢棄物設計指南,其中包括紐約市建築中心的“設計廢棄物(Designing Waste)”展覽。零廢棄物設計指南中囊括了眾多設計策略和案例研究,旨在幫助城市通過建築設計來減少浪費。

Clare 以AIANY COTE 的主席和當地食品合作社的可持續發展協調員的身份活躍於紐約市的可持續發展社區。她是LEED 和被動式房屋(Passive House)認證的專家。她對自然系統抱有濃厚興趣並擁有仿生學碩士和專業認證。她於2019 年成立了零廢棄物設計中心(Center for Zero Waste Design)並通過此中心致力於對“全球城市的零廢棄物設計”的研究與實施。

2019

Design Trust Feature Grant

Zero Waste Design Guidelines for High Density Cities

Organisation:
Center for Zero Waste Design

The Zero Waste Design Guidelines were developed through the American Institute of Architects New York, to address the crucial role that the design of the built environment plays in achieving circular material loops. While developed for New York City’s context, the design
strategies are applicable to any city, and are especially valuable for reducing waste in high density cities. For this project a public facing panel discussion will be held in Hong Kong and Singapore to engage the local design community and discuss the concepts of zero waste design. An expert thinktank with local stakeholders will follow, to explore how the design strategies can be adapted and applied to each city. The intent is to begin a process of collaboration between the three cities, with each sharing strategies, research, case studies and policies, to deepen the impact and engagement of the design community in achieving zero waste goals.


About the Center for Zero Waste Design
Waste is a design flaw: Ecosystems recycle materials indefinitely in circular loops, but humans have designed a system which trashes over 90% of the materials extracted from the earth within six months. The Center for Zero Waste Design (CfZWD) promotes the role of design of the urban realm in helping cities achieve circular material loops and zero waste. Clare Miflin leads the Center, which adapts the design strategies from the Zero Waste Design Guidelines to the context of other cities, expands the database of case studies, and develops research and policy tools. The impact of applying the design strategies goes beyond reducing waste, to reduction of truck traffic and greenhouse gas emissions, improvement of public space, and more sustainable and resilient cities.

About Clare Miflin

Clare Miflin has over 25 years of experience as a practicing architect, primarily with Kiss + Cathcart Architects, where she led award winning projects including an AIA Committee on the Environment (COTE) Top Ten Award and a Holcim Gold award for sustainability. In 2017 she led the development of the ground-breaking Zero Waste Design Guidelines which included the exhibition Designing Waste at the Center for Architecture in New York City. These provide design strategies and case studies to help cities reduce waste through design of the built environment.

Clare is active in the New York City’s sustainable community as Chair of AIANY COTE, and Sustainability Coordinator for her local food cooperative. She is a certified LEED and Passive House professional. Fascinated by natural systems, she also holds a MS and Professional Certification in Biomimicry. She set up the Center for Zero Waste Design in 2019 to further knowledge and implementation of Zero Waste Design in cities worldwide.