2019

信言設計大使專題資助計劃

Future of the Past: Hong Kong 2047+

Organisation:
香港設計史網絡

香港設計歷史網絡是一個研究團體,旨在推動香港多元化設計歷史的的興趣和討論。 為此,團隊很高興能參與策劃2020年倫敦設計雙年展香港館。響應「共鳴」的主題,團隊提出名為「過去的未來: 香港2047 +」的策展計劃。展館將重新介入香港及其相關的資料庫,思考香港的歷史和意念,如何在世界各地引起共鳴。計劃亦會對未來如何存取、記錄和共享歷史提問,並嘗試提出更多元、繁雜的角度理解源自過去的資訊交流網絡。
結合算命儀式的素材和概念,觀眾在展館將參與一場「以訛傳訛」遊戲,基於每天從觀眾收集寫在沙盆的筆劃,再生成一本共同編寫的未來之書。觀眾的書寫將進行實時投影,在展覽期間整理成現場及在線發佈的檔案。

藉此,展館提供了一個另類的檔案館,記錄了香港多元、交織的、非線性的歷史,並鼓勵來自世界各地的觀眾在現有論述框架以外,共同推測這座城市的未來。

展館匯集三個活躍於香港的設計工作室,包括 aona、K2 和 叄語設計,通過協作流程共同創作,直接介入資料庫、空間、系統和歷史研究材料。

關於 香港設計史網絡

香港設計史網絡(HKDHNet)是一個專注於香港多元化設計歷史的研究團體。 香港設計史網絡是由V&A / RCA設計歷史課程和RCA /信言設計大使獎學金的校友組成,通過以設計和材料為中心的協作,跨學科項目,在學術和公共機構中工作,重新確定香港的歷史背景及文化。由於與香港的聯繫,集體成員來自藝術,設計,學術和博物館等各個領域;她們在建築,城市研究,時裝和服裝以及展覽等方面擁有廣泛的專業知識。 香港設計史網絡的活動目前集中在英國和香港。

關於 Janice Li

Janice Li是現居於倫敦的策展人,專注研究設計、時裝與物質文化,特別關注藝術、設計、科學和人文的交織,以及他們文化包容性和發展可持續性。同時,她亦積極參與在有關交織性理論身分認同和後/去殖民化的項目。她對於在跨感官和跨文化背景下的空間,人,和他們穿著和使用的“事物”之間的相互作用特別感興趣。

在倫敦皇家藝術學院畢業後,她曾在威尼斯設計年展,米蘭設計週,MoMA現代藝術博物館生物設計,維也納設計周和第24屆皇家藝術學院的年度籌款展覽RCA Secret獨立策展,同時擔任倫敦科學博物館特別展的顧問。她現在是維多利亞和阿爾伯特博物館的助理策展人,過往參與了其特展’Fashioned from Nature’的規劃和文案設計,現在專注研究和策劃2023年於東倫敦開幕的新展館 V&A East Waterfront Musuem。她以策展探索設計環境和沈浸式藝術中的感官體驗如何有助於觀眾解讀抽像的數據和知識。

2019

Design Trust Feature Grant

Future of the Past: Hong Kong 2047+

Organisation:
Hong Kong Design History Network

The Hong Kong Design History Network is a platform that seeks to elicit interest and debate on Hong Kong’s design history and legacy. In this effort, we respond to the London Design Biennale 2020 theme “Resonance” with a curatorial proposal for a Hong Kong Pavilion entitled “Future of the Past: Hong Kong 2047+”. Working with Hong Kong artists, designers and architects the pavilion fosters a dialogue on the archive - How will a historian in the year 2047, when the Joint Sino-British Declaration expires, critically access Hong Kong’s history? How will history and archives behave in 2097, 2147 and beyond? The project is a discourse on archives, colonial legacy, and design history, but also an opportunity to reflect on the future of Hong Kong’s history.

About Hong Kong Design History Network

The Hong Kong Design History Network (HKDHNet) is a research collective focused on the diverse design histories of Hong Kong. Founded by a group of alumni of the V&A/RCA History of Design programme and the RCA/Design Trust Fellowship, HKDHNet work across academic and public institutions to re-contextualise histories of Hong Kong through collaborative, cross-disciplinary projects centred on design and material culture. Connected by personal and scholarly ties to Hong Kong, members of the collective come from various fields within art, design, academia, and museums with a wide range of expertise in architecture, urban studies, fashion and dress, and exhibitions, amongst others. HKDHNet are currently based in the UK and Hong Kong. 

About Janice Li

Janice Li is a London-based curator and researcher of design, fashion and material culture, with a focus in the crossing over of art, design, science and humanities, as well as their relations with inclusivity and sustainability. She also engages in projects concerning intersectionality and decolonisation. Janice's passion lies within the interactions between the space, the people, and the ‘things’ they wear and use,  particularly in a crossmodal and transcultural context.

An alumna of the Royal College of Art, she has independently curated design exhibitions at Venice Design, Salone del Mobile, MoMA Biodesign, Vienna Design Week and the 24th edition of the RCA Secret, while being a consultant for the Science Museum (London). Previously worked on ‘Fashioned from Nature’, she is now an Assistant Curator at the Victoria & Albert Museum for its V&A East development. Her curatorial practice explores how sensory experiences in designed environments and immersive art forms contribute to the understanding of intangible data and knowledge.