宗旨

信言設計大使倡議積極、長遠、知性及有意義的發展平台,旨於推動及資助具創意、新思維的設計研究方案 。我們鼓勵嶄新、具前瞻性的設計研究計劃,範圍觸及各大設計領域,包括平面視覺、媒體、穿戴產品科技、建築及生活空間,創意研究,設計或任何有助拓展設計議題計劃項目,藉此提倡設計的正面價值。

本會簡介

信言設計大使為一個成立於2014年的專案資助平台,由2007年創立的本地註冊非牟利慈善團體「香港設計大使」創辦。信言設計大使旨於支持香港及大珠江三角洲地區的設計專案,推動專業知識、設計研究議題和創意項目,涉及多個設計領域,從平面設計、媒體、建築至生活空間。信言設計大使旨於積極鼓勵創意研究、設計及別具意義的計劃發展,藉此提倡設計的正面價值。

 

主要活動

資助計劃

 

設計講座和對談

 

社區及公眾活動

 

本會歷史

本地註冊非牟利慈善團體香港設計大使成立自2006年,創會成員來自香港本地設計界別。香港設計大使(HKAoD)於2007年整合業務,舉辦一系列具備創意、與別不同的活動,推廣來自街頭和設計工作室的創造力,鼓勵普羅大眾與本地和國際創意設計業界互動交流。

透過與香港設計中心協同合作,香港設計大使亦曾舉辦多元化及教育性的活動,推廣設計、創意及文化發展。

香港設計大使開創的旗艦活動Detour,是全港首個設計節。過往的每年活動均與香港設計營商周同步進行,透過展覽和節目,提供機會讓來自世界各地城市的設計師與香港本地創意人分享、展示和交流彼此作品。Detour始辦於2007年,起初只是結集城中藝術家工作室、畫廊和設計羣族的小型活動。其後,規模繼漸擴大,於2008和2009年間曾在中環前已婚警察宿舍(現址已活化成為中環文創文化地標PMQ元創坊)舉行首次大型文化活動。2010年Detour更成為首個獲批准於前中央警署建築群維多利亞監獄舉辦的大型設計活動,現址即將活化成為區內最新的藝術博物館和畫廊,預計於2017年開幕。2011年的Detour移至灣仔警署舉行,最後一屆的Detour則在流動電車上舉辦。Detour活動現在由PMQ元創坊正式接手,負責主理活動的管理和策展工作。香港設計大使深感榮幸能夠在過去的日子裏籌劃這項別具活力的活動,讓本地設計業界同仁聚首、交流,提供大眾免費參與展覽和活動的機會。香港設計大使亦曾於2008至2011年間 ,舉辦全港首次的Pecha Kucha活動。本會亦積極推動本地設計師的海外交流機會,我們每年邀請一班獲選香港年青設計師遠赴設計營商周的夥伴國家,與當地設計師聯合創作及展出設計作品。過去曾進行海外交流國家包括法國、荷蘭、日本、德國、比利時、哥本哈根和布魯塞爾,這些曾經參與交流活動的香港設計師,現於本地設計圈子發揮所長,成為本地創意工業的重要一員。

 

MarisaYIU_2016_BWSmile

姚嘉珊

聯合創辦人/執行總監

執行總監的話

我們是一班來自設計界別、熱愛設計的中堅份子,深信設計在推動社會創新、改革等層面上具備扮演重要角色的價值。由本註冊慈善團體成立的信言設計基金會始創計劃,宗旨為鼓勵來自香港和大珠三角洲地區的多元化「設計」研究和項目計劃。信言設計基金會重視設計背後的內容,別於大部分人把「設計」視為消費界別的專享特權、活色生輝的服務,甚至奢侈品的商業手段, 我們深信「設計」是日常生活中不可分割的一環。我們知道公共空間需要更符合用家需要和人體工學的設計空間;我們樂見日新月異的科技和新技術,有助節源和減少環境危害;我們好奇設計學者們總有不同的有趣研究方法,幫助大家了解現代城市的歷史和發展面貌,洞悉正在急速改變的未來城市需要和觀點。這些例子讓我們明白「好的設計成果」必須要經歷千錐百鍊的實驗、獨具隻眼的設計思維,還有與別不同的方法才能成事。我們預視未來的計劃項目,將可以帶來更多討論和對話機會,激發實驗、創新和多樣性的創意文化,幫助建立更成熟、強大的未來世界。我們希望聯結社會上不同界別的羣體,無論是商業或公共機構;教育還是來自各個界別的不同人仕,大家齊來發揮互助互惠的精神,在本地、海外等不同地域促進對話和合作。讓我們可以進一步推動設計在城市和鄰近地域的正面價值和影響力。

藉此機會,衷心感謝各位創辦成員、顧問委員和董事會成員,感激大家在本人委任期間的無私支持,讓我順利過渡成為本會首屆執行總監。未來的日子,我們將要面臨更多新工作和挑戰,在此誠意邀請各位積極參與、支持本會的事務,同時歡迎大家隨時提出疑問題,這些關鍵的問題將有助本會成長發展,讓我們由一家剛起步的非牟利機構,慢慢達成目標,成為地區內最具代表性、推動創意研究和設計生態交流的地區創意平台。我們有信心透過提升研究、設計和發展各種別具意義的計劃,可以進一步提倡設計的正面價值。這些正面能量和行動可以營造更具活力、創意和感染力的環境。本會紮根香港和大珠江三角洲地區,卻不只受限於地區的實際空間,我們希望透過更廣泛的跨界對話和計劃項目讓本土議題與國際平台更進一步地連結。我們相信設計,更相信設計的力量。

期待與大家見面。

姚嘉珊

董事會

Jay Parmanand

Jay Parmanand

董事會成員
-

Symphony Capital Partners Limited的行政總監,公司專責餐旅業、醫療、生活文化和地產投資事業。曾任BCBGMAXAZRIAGROUP亞洲區的商業顧問,ABN AMRO、Fox-Pitt和Kelton多項合併、收購和融資市場項目,遍及不同行業。他一直義務參與和支持多個慈善團體,包括樂施會、伸手助人協會、Sovereign藝術基金會、Para Site藝術空間等,同時熱衷於音樂、藝術和設計。

 

譚載怡, Joyce Tam

譚載怡, Joyce

聯合創辦人及董事會成員
-

高盛集團行政總監,主理私人財富管理,,除了為高淨值客戶及其家人提供投資意見。同時為非牟利機構的流動資產和投資項目提供意見。譚載怡積極參與慈善機構工作,包括龍傳基金、香港青年協會、香港青年聯會、Youth Elite、香港設計大使和香港世界宣明會等。

朱沛宗, Jehan Chu

朱沛宗, Jehan

聯合創辦人及董事會成員
-

藝術顧問和拍賣人,擁有超過十三年行業經驗。1999 年起於紐約蘇富比拍賣行工作,擔任亞洲客戶發展總監。2008 年離任,並創立 Vermillion Art Collections ,一個專門與個人和商業收藏家合作的私人藝術顧問機構。

朱沛宗現在是 Para/Site 藝術空間和香港設計大使的董事局成員,也是 WYNG 大師攝影獎的評審,曾獲提名 Sovereign 傑出亞洲藝術獎。朱沛宗曾於蘇富比藝術學院、the Asia Art Forum、巴塞爾藝 術展、國際知名銀行及其他機構講授藝術收藏。

歐詠詩, Desiree Au

歐詠詩, Desiree

董事會成員
-

倫敦首屈一指生活雜誌《Time Out》 香港版《 Time Out Hong Kong》 及美高梅國際酒店集團雜誌《M life》中國版的出版人。她同時替 《Elle Luxe》和《國際紐約時報》撰文。

Desiree 在媒體行業擁有超過二十年經驗,曾擔任《英文虎報》和《南華早報》編輯,同時是亞洲出版人協會和婦女基金會成員。她一直積極參與各種藝術、文化和環保活動,曾獲提名Sovereign 傑出亞洲藝術獎。

羅揚傑, Alan Lo

羅揚傑, Alan

聯合創辦人及董事會主席
-

香港飲食集團 Press Room Group 聯合創辦人及總監,旗下食肆 The Press Room、Classified 和 The Pawn 等的負責人和營運者。

一直致力推動香港設計、創意和旅遊業發展,參與多個政府和非官方組織,包括香港設計大使、ART HK(自 2009 年起擔任顧問小組成員)、旅遊業策略小組(自2008年起擔任非官方委員)、方便營商諮詢委員會 (自 2010年起擔任非官方委員)、 2009 港深城市 \ 建築雙城雙年展(藝術、都市整合及項目活動策劃)。

 

顧問團

海外設計顧問團

Zoë Ryan
Zoë Ryan
Lars Nittve
Lars Nittve
Lyndon Neri
Lyndon Neri
Thomas Heatherwick
Thomas Heatherwick
Brian Wong
Brian Wong
Rodman Primack
Rodman Primack
Liu Xiaodu
Liu Xiaodu
Eva Franch
Eva Franch
Beatrice Leanza
Beatrice Leanza

珠江三角洲設計顧問團

Cole Roskam
Cole Roskam
Ole Bouman
Ole Bouman
Andrew Au
Andrew Au
Leslie Lu
Leslie Lu
Jean T Miao
Jean T Miao
Winnie So
Winnie So
Tat Lam
Tat Lam
William To
William To
Tim Li
Tim Li
Stephanie Poon
Stephanie Poon
Giovanni Alessi Anghini
Giovanni Alessi Anghini
Eric Schuldenfrei
Eric Schuldenfrei
Arnault Castel
Arnault Castel
Aric Chen
Aric Chen

MISSION

Design Trust creates active long-term, intelligent and meaningful platforms to fund and advocate for the positive value of the process of design, debate and creative sharing. We support innovative, thought-provoking investigations in various design disciplines from graphics, media, wearable technologies, architecture to the environment to actively accelerate creative research, design and development of meaningful projects that advocate for the positive role of design. 

ABOUT US

Design Trust was established in 2014 by Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design, a registered charity in Hong Kong since 2007, as a grant funding platform. Design Trust supports creative projects that develop expertise, build research initiatives and content related to Hong Kong and the Greater Pearl River Delta Region. Working across a multiplicity of design disciplines from graphics, media, architecture to the built environment, Design Trust aims to actively accelerate creative research, design and development of meaningful projects that advocate for the positive role of design.

 

CORE ACTIVITIES

GRANTS

 

DESIGN ASSEMBLY & DIALOGUES

 

ENGAGING THE COMMUNITY & PUBLIC EVENTS

 

OUR HISTORY

Founded in 2006 as a non-profit and registered charity by a group of individuals from Hong Kong’s design community, Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design (HKAoD) was incorporated in 2007 with the aim to stimulate exchange between the local and international design community and the public, through a series of imaginative and unconventional initiatives, channeling creative energies from both the street and the studio.

Through working with the Hong Kong Design Centre, HKAoD presented diversified and educational initiatives to promote design and culture.

HKAoD spearheaded the first ever design festival in Hong Kong called DETOUR. Alongside the Business of Design Week annually, the festival brought together designers from various international cities and local Hong Kong designers to share and showcase work in an exhibition and festival format. DETOUR began as a guidebook listing in 2008, bringing together artists studios, galleries with the design community. DETOUR subsequently grew and became the first cultural event to take place in the former Police Married Quarters in 2009 and 2011 (before its renovation into the new cultural site that is now called PMQ). In 2010 DETOUR was given access to the Central Police Station Victoria Prison site for a large scale design festival, a site where a new museum and gallery is being constructed to be opened in 2017. In 2011 DETOUR was sited at the former Wan Chai police station, and the Detour’s last event organised by HKAoD was sited on 4 moving Trams. PMQ has now officially taken over the DETOUR festival and the branded event is under a different management and curatorial team. HKAoD is proud to have generated and built up an exciting design festival bringing together the design community and general public to witness design projects and enjoy free exhibitions and public programmes. HKAoD also hosted the first Pecha Kucha event series in Hong Kong from 2008 to 2011, launched the Designer Exchange programme, bringing groups of selected HK designers to showcase and collaborate with the partner city of Business of Design Week. Past exchanges with the partner cities included Paris, Tokyo, Berlin, Copenhagen and Brussels, these designers have moved on to building further their careers and supporting the local design ecology.

 

MarisaYIU_2016_BWSmile

Marisa Yiu

Co-founder / Executive Director

MESSAGE FROM THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

As a network of individuals passionate about design and its powerful role in societal’s positive transformation, our non for profit initiative, Design Trust supports a diversity of research and “design” projects relating to Hong Kong and Pearl River Delta. Design Trust is content focused. “Design” is often misunderstood as only for the privilege, seen as an embellishment or as a service, or a luxury product connected with the commercial sector; however “design” is very much part of our everyday. We see the need for better and ergonomically well-designed public spaces. We are inspired by how the process of designing new technologies can reduce waste and impact our environment. We are intrigued by design scholars who research the history of urban form to allow us to better understand the rapid needs of the future of cities. The processes to achieve “good” positive design outcomes require rigorous methods, insightful design thinking and unique approaches. We envision through these projects a richer dialogue could be fostered and where a culture of experimentation, new ideas and innovative possibilities can build a stronger future. In bringing various communities together, both in the public and private sector, educational arena and across borders, I hope we can advance a spirit of generosity and dialogue within our region and internationally. We advocate for the positive values of design in the role for shaping a better city and region we live in.

I am so thrilled to be the first Executive Director and grateful to my fellow co-founders, advisors and board members in the past years who support my transition into this new role for the organisation. We have a lot of work ahead of us and I invite many of you to join, support and raise critical questions as your questions will only help us further advance our small non for profit to reach its mission of supporting innovative investigations and communicating the need for in depth understanding of the design ecology of this region. We truly like to accelerate research, design and development of meaningful projects that advocate for the positive role of design. And these positive values and actions only produce a more robust, creative and stimulating environment. Rooted in Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta region, we are not limited by our territories and borders – but hope and aim to create cross-dialogue and projects that have local meaning and global reach. We entrust in design and the value of design.

Look forward to being in touch!

-Marisa Yiu

 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Jay Parmanand

Director
-

JAY PARMANAND is an Executive Director at Symphony Capital Partners Limited, an investment firm that focuses on the hospitality, healthcare, lifestyle and real estate sectors primarily in Asia. Before he joined Symphony, he was Vice President, Business Development Asia, for the Los Angeles-based fashion company, BCBGMAXAZRIAGROUP. Prior to that, he worked in the Mergers & Acquisitions and Equity Capital Markets teams at ABN AMRO and Fox-Pitt, Kelton across various industries. He has worked on a number of real estate-related projects in Asia and Europe and is passionate about art and design.

He is a volunteer and / or supporter for a number of charitable and non-charitable organisations including Oxfam, Helping Hand,  the Sovereign Art Foundation and the Para Site Art Space amongst others. 

Parmanand is a graduate of New York University in Economics and History (Cum Laude). 

 

Joyce Tam

Co-founder / Director
-

JOYCE TAM is an Executive Director at Goldman Sachs within their Private Wealth Management. Tam mainly advises high net worth individuals and their family offices on their investment needs. She also advises non-profit organizations and foundations on their liquidity and portfolio needs. Tam volunteers for a number of charitable organizations, including the Dragon Foundation, Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups, Hong Kong United Youth Association, Youth Elites, Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design and World Vision. 

Jehan Chu

Co-founder / Director
-

JEHAN CHU is an Art Advisor and auctioneer with over 13 years of industry experience. Formerly with Sotheby’s Auction House in New York from 1999, and Head of Client Development in Asia, he left in 2008 to start Vermillion Art Collections, a specialized art advisory working with private and corporate art collectors.

He now sits on the Board of Directors of Para Site Art Space and Hong Kong Ambassadors of Design. Chu is a judge of the WYNG Photography Masters Award, and a nominator of the Sovereign Asian Art Prize. He has lectured on collecting art for Sotheby’s Institute, the Asia Art Forum, Art Basel, as well as major banks and associations. Chu is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University and holds a degree in International Relations and East Asian Studies, as well as instruction certification in Visual Thinking Strategies. 

Desiree Au

Director
-

DESIREE AU is the managing director and publisher of Time Out Hong Kong, one of the most dynamic international editions of the city-lifestyle magazine founded in London. A communications consultant, she also contributes to writing for ELLE Luxe and The International New York Times.

Having spent nearly 20 years in the media industry, she previously held editor positions with The Standard and The South China Morning Post. She also sits on the board of The Society of Publishers Asia and The Women's Foundation. She is passionate about arts, culture and environmental issues and is a nominator for the Sovereign Asian Art Prize. 

Alan Lo

Co-founder / Chairman
-

ALAN LO is co-founder and executive director of Hong Kong-based Classified Group, owner and operator of food and beverage outlets including Classified, The Pawn and The Fat Pig. He is also a co-founder of Michelin starred bar and Chinese restaurant Duddell’s. Lo has many years of hospitality project experience, having worked for project management and development teams at a number of international hotel groups.

He is active in promoting design, creativity and tourism in Hong Kong, serving on a number of government and non-government bodies including Design Trust, Para Site and Art Basel’s Global Patrons Council.  Alan also served on a number of government committees including Hong Kong Arts Development Council, Liquor Licensing Board, Harbourfront Commission, Business Facilitation Advisory Committee, Qualification Framework Catering Industry Advisory Committee, ART HK,Tourism Strategy Group, Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council, and 2009 Hong Kong-Shenzhen Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\ Architecture.  He holds an AB in architecture from Princeton University.

 

ADVISORY COUNCIL

International Advisory Council

Lars Nittve
Lars Nittve
Lyndon Neri
Lyndon Neri
Thomas Heatherwick
Thomas Heatherwick
Brian Wong
Brian Wong
Rodman Primack
Rodman Primack
Liu Xiaodu
Liu Xiaodu
Eva Franch
Eva Franch
Beatrice Leanza
Beatrice Leanza

Pearl River Delta Design Council

Cole Roskam
Cole Roskam
Ole Bouman
Ole Bouman
Andrew Au
Andrew Au
Leslie Lu
Leslie Lu
Jean T Miao
Jean T Miao
Winnie So
Winnie So
Tat Lam
Tat Lam
William To
William To
Tim Li
Tim Li
Stephanie Poon
Stephanie Poon
Giovanni Alessi Anghini
Giovanni Alessi Anghini
Eric Schuldenfrei
Eric Schuldenfrei
Arnault Castel
Arnault Castel
Aric Chen
Aric Chen